Two Shows in Australia with Patrick James

By luke thompson

Heading to Australia in June to play two shows with Patrick James. Check out his amazing new tune ‘California Song’. These are the only Australian shows I have planned at the moment. Grab some tickets here.

Melbourne/June 13 – https://northcotesc.ticketscout.com.au/gigs/3588

Sydney/June 27 – https://newtownsc.ticketscout.com.au/gigs/3590


Keep Rolling On – Music Video

By luke thompson

Filmed throughout Germany, Sweden and Denmark in March 2015. Huge thanks to Stu Larsen, Digital Creative Solutions and NZ on Air. Hope you like it



By luke thompson

So happy to finally announce some shows in NZ next month. It has been awhile! Excited that my mate Holly Arrowsmith will be supporting. We’re heading to a few main centres, and playing a bunch of brand new venues (for me anyway). TICKET LINKS BELOW

CHRISTCHURCH Tickets Here Fundraising show for the Abolitionist Society.

TAURANGA Tickets Here 


HAMILTON Tickets Here

AUCKLAND Tickets Here



Strum Strum – Out Now!

By luke thompson

So happy to finally release a few new songs! I felt that these four songs shared a candid simplicity and belonged together on ‘Strum Strum‘. Thank you to everyone who helped make this (Check out the full credits on bandcamp if youre interested), to my family and friends who are as crazy as I am and continue to encourage and support me, and all the amazing friends I meet along the way. There are too many of you to mention here. I don’t mind how you consume it, I just hope you enjoy it and share it with your friends. Thanks for listening. Luke x

You can buy it here on iTunes, Or buy it on Bandcamp. Listen on Spotify or Listen on Soundcloud 





By luke thompson

I had the most amazing time in Europe with my buddy Stu Larsen, travelling to some new places and playing music. I fell in love with Germany, Sweden and Denmark! Thanks to all the amazing peopele I met, I cant wait to see you again soon! P.S I love trains.



Oh Christina

By luke thompson

New song and music video, from an a new small collection of songs called ‘Strum Strum’, coming real soon!! Thanks to Dusty for awesome set design on the video. Long time collaborator Mark Fruish.  And an incredible Director of Photography Chris Mathews. Hope you enjoy it. Luke x


Jack Carty Shows – NZ and AUS

By luke thompson

A few shows with Jack Carty in NZ this week, and then a bunch more shows in Australia throughout December. Details soon.


Lost Songs

By luke thompson

I have decided to release a collection of unreleased songs from the last 5 years, to help finish off my new album. You can buy this collection for $8 or have the option pay more if you would like to help me finish work on my new album. (I guess its my version of a crowd funding campaign). No one has ever heard these songs except some of my friends and family.

Lost Songs - https://lukethompson.bandcamp.com/album/lost-songs

Some of are these are initial rough recordings, done only moments after the song was written. Some are demo’s, others were recorded for albums but abandoned and unfinished. Some are pretty rough, unmixed and un-mastered. And some of these songs are actually among my favourites.

I hope you enjoy them. This will only be available for two or three weeks and then they go back to being lost songs, only existing on my computer and yours.

If you enjoy it or just want to help me get the new album done please share the link. Thank you, always. xx Luke


Coming Up For Air

By luke thompson

Lydia Cole and I are doing two special shows together in June. Playing new songs that we are currently writing and recording, in two of our favourite venues in New Zealand. These are quite possibly the only shows we will do this year.   Tickets are limited and selling quickly! Get them here http://lukethompson.eventbrite.com




The Paper Kites – NZ Shows

By luke thompson

'Strum Strum'

Released 9th April 2015
Buy on iTunes

'To The Common Dark'

Released 15th November 2012
Buy on iTunes


MELBOURNE / JUNE 13 / Northcote Social club / with PATRICK JAMES / Tickets www.patrickjames.com.au

SYDNEY / JUNE 27 / Newtown Social club / with PATRICK JAMES / Tickets www.patrickjames.com.au

CHRISTCHURCH / MAY 8TH / Keep Rolling On NZ TOUR / with Holly Arrowsmith / Chambers Sessions . Tickets at www.dashtickets.co.nz

TAURANGA / MAY 13TH / Keep Rolling On NZ TOUR / with Holly Arrowsmith / Mount Social Club / Tickets at www.lukethompson.eventbrite.com

WELLINGTON / MAY 16TH / Keep Rolling On NZ TOUR / with Holly Arrowsmith / Zeal Wellington / Tickets at www.lukethompson.eventbrite.com

HAMILTON / MAY 22ND / Keep Rolling On NZ TOUR / with Holly Arrowsmith / Zeal Hamilton / Tickets at www.lukethompson.eventbrite.com

AUCKLAND / MAY 23RD / Keep Rolling On NZ TOUR / with Holly Arrowsmith / The Warehouse Sessions / Tickets from www.undertheradar.co.nz


Join the Mailing List

Click here to join the mailing list and receive updates.